Keeping your cool when your kids are not.

“The Lord himself will fight for you. Just stay calm. – Exodus 14:14”

It is so hard to keep a calm head on your shoulders when one kid is crying for food and the other is crying just to be held. There are toys all over the floor and no, dinner does not cook itself. As a working mom we sometimes stretch ourselves to limits we didn’t even know existed. I sometimes call myself “Mrs. Fantastic” because I am constantly stretching not only my limbs to feed a baby while folding towels but also attempting to stretch time. Recently it was discussed in my Sunday school class that there just isn’t enough time in the day. I agree with this statement but I also disagree. Ok moms, when we say there isn’t enough time what we really mean is “there isn’t enough time to get all this done and also watch a 30 minute episode of my favorite show”. It’s okay. I am completely guilty of this myself. I can complain until I am red in the face but the truth it we all think we deserve me time every single day. Let’s focus on what we can do during the day to help lessen our stress and hopefully give us a window for more “me time”. Bare with me here…

First, I know we all have some kind of morning routine. Yes this routine may vary day to day but there are still some things we do each morning that will never change. For instance some of us may shower in the mornings or some at night. Either way, you shower (hopefully). Take an extra 5 minutes while you are drying off to just pick up the bathroom. Throw the dirty clothes in the hamper, organize your shampoos and body wash, wipe down the counter, etc… You get the point. This allows for you to get one room of the house picked up while your kids are either sleeping or with daddy. I promise the extra time makes a difference.

Second, let’s discuss nights. Some of us have itty bittys that still wake up in the middle of the night while some of us have kids that sleep until 5 or maybe even 6. If your baby gets up in the middle of the night, feed him or her and once they go back down for a few hours take an extra 15 minutes before you go back to bed to either put some dishes up or fold some laundry. ONLY 15 minutes ladies, this allows you to exert some energy (yes there is some left trust me) and then go back to sleep. In the process you get some much needed chores done and you don’t have to worry about it once you get off work the next day.

Lastly, and this is the biggest one for me. Put the dish towel down, put away the vacuum, and turn off the TV. I love being clean and organized, sometimes to a fault. My husband tells me all the time I need to stop worrying so much about the household stuff that we could work on it together over the weekend. The point is – spend time with your kids. I never want to look back and regret not spending that 10 minutes with my son and miss a milestone all because I was scrubbing the bathtub. They won’t be this small forever and I know one day we will miss it.

Moms we need to stick together. Check out the link below to find some awesome tricks to cleaning your home on a “time-budget”. It’s super helpful!

Thanks and have a blissfully mindful day!

cleaning-tips-for-busy-moms

http://www.yourmodernfamily.com/cleaning-tips-busy-moms/ 

Leave a Reply

