2 lines means pregnant right?

Today is the last day of January. I feel like this month kind of just flew by. It’s a new year and I feel like it’s going to be gone before we know it. I have a 3.5 month old son, 3 dogs, a baby on the way… This isn’t where I thought I would be at the age of 23.

Sure, Luke and I always discussed having kids and we both knew we definitely wanted them. Like a whole slew of boys was what we always dreamed about. This time last year we were discussing the options of when we could start trying for a baby. It wasn’t until the end of February that we decided to wait for Luke got his second degree in drafting. Well, WE made that decision on 02-27-16. The problem with that was that WE never consulted God on the matter. Here we were planning our lives with no regard to what our actual plan would be. It was the very next day that I decided to take a pregnancy test. I wasn’t even a day late yet but I just had a feeling that I needed to take one. I go to CVS and grab a Clear Blue and head to the bathroom. I literally had to flip over the test so I didn’t have to watch it load. 3 minutes pass by so I check the test strip……….PREGNANT.

Of course, this left me an emotional mess. My husband was only 2 minutes away at the local donut shop with his buddies so I pulled up and called him and told him to come outside. He said the minute he saw me he thought someone had died. I showed him the pregnancy test and I was so nervous he would be mad because we were supposed to wait a whole year for this. He looked at me with tears in his eyes and said “Am I going to be a dad?” It was all I could do to shake my head yes. He was so exited and immediately said “Can we go inside and tell my friends?” So we go in and tell his best buds that are all in there.

One of their girlfriends knew I was freaking out so she carried me back up to CVS and I took 2 more tests (just to be sure). Yepp, both positive. There was no way of escaping 3 positive pregnancy tests. So we called Luke’s parents and they met us up at the donut shop and all I can remember is Luke’s mom bouncing up and down saying “I’m going to be a Nonni!” My parents of course didn’t think it was real at first but of course my mom was just squalling when she finally realized it was true.

Telling all of our friends and family was probably the highlight of the pregnancy. I wanted to share this story with you so I could share how everyone took the news of baby #2 (just 14 weeks after giving birth to Cade).

I showed up to Luke’s work around 7:30 that Monday morning to tell him. I walked him outside and he was like “What? Are you pregnant?” and we just laughed and laughed because we still couldn’t believe it. He said “I want you to know I really am excited but I am also terrified” I mean come on… 2 babies under the age of 1? That is just madness. There were no tears with baby #2 just a sense of knowing that this one is meant to be here just like Cade was. It’s so comforting to know that this sweet baby was thought of so long ago and He knew that this would all happen. God’s timing is sometimes questionable and even confusing BUT we both know that He doesn’t give you what you can’t handle. Even if we aren’t equipped right now we will be by the time this one arrives.

I hope you all enjoyed reading the story as much as I enjoyed sharing it. Please share your pregnancy story with me! Just click on the link on the welcome page to contact me! I look forward to reading your stories!

 

Thanks and have a blissfully mindful day!

Leave a Reply

